However it's the huge historical presence in Quin and its surrounding areas that attracts many visitors to the village every year. The site of Ireland's greatest ever discovery of prehistoric gold workings, some of which can be seen today in the National Museum in Dublin , Quin also boasts the best preserved Abbey of the Mid-West Region. Quin Abbey founded in 1433 housed many Franciscan monks over the centuries until 1820 when the last monk, Father Hogan, whose burial site can be visited in the Abbey, died. This Abbey along with the 13th century Gothic style church lying adjacent to it attracts many visitors who come to climb the spiral staircase and explore how the monks lived and view the surrounding countryside.
Two miles over the road from Quin lies a huge fifteenth century tower house - Knappogue castle . Originally built in 1467 by the McNamara clan who had a huge presence in the area at that time, the castle was taken over in 1649 by Oliver Cromwell who made it his headquarters until 1660 when, after the Restoration, the McNamara regained control of the castle. In recent years it has been beautifully restored and is open for viewing between April and October. There are Medieval banquets held in the main part of the castle between May and October allowing the visitor to step back in time and enjoy the splendour and fun associated with a Medieval meal.
Just two miles south of Knappogue lies the Cragganowen Project - a Project aimed at recreating a sense of Ireland's ancient history . Here one will discover reconstructions of ancient homes including an ancient ring fort and crannog. However the most famous display to be found here is the boat that Tim Severin used to cross the Atlantic in 1976 - a boat which was a replica of the one used by St Brendan to carry out the same journey in the 9th century.