Irish Legends 9 Days

Experience a wide range of sightseeing activities in popular regions around the south of Ireland. All superior and first class hotels offer high standards of comfort and excellent meals and a two night stay in especially selected farmhouses will enhance your knowledge of Ireland and its people.

Learn of giants, heroes and magic as you're immersed in the ancient myths and legends from Irelands past.

Very different from other tours, this 9 or 10 day vacation will take you off the beaten track as you visit some of Irelands lesser known regions, such as the Aran Islands, Clonmacnoise Monastic site and Kilkenny's Medieval Mile, while also seeing the more popular locations like Dublin and Galway!

Included in this tour:
  • 9 days (8 nights) tour
  • Roundtrip Group transfers when you book our flights ($30 fee for transfers on Land-only bookings)
  • Sightseeing by luxury coach
  • Professional tour director
  • 8 nights in hotels listed 
  • Full breakfast daily except on day 1 (B)
  • 6 dinners (D) including:
  •  -Welcome night at Dunboyne Castle Hotel
  • - Pub dinner in Dingle 
  • - Taylor's Three Rock Pub dinner and traditional show
  • - 3 table d'hote dinners
  • - 2 lunches
  • Welcome get-together drink
  • Walking tours of Kilkenny and Waterford
  • Ferry ride across the River Shannon
  • Rathbaun Farm sheepdog trials with tea and scones
  • Day tour to Inis Mor, largest of the three Aran Islands
  • Irish Coffees at South Pole Inn near Dingle and at Sean's Pub in Athlone
  • Visits and admissions to Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands Excursion, Blarney Castle, Cobh Heritage Centre, Clonmacnoise Monasic Site, Scenic Dingle Peninsula, Dun Aengus Fort, Dunbrody Emigrant Ship, Irish National Stud & Gardensand Malahide Castle. 
  • Headsets for walking tours
  • Deluxe flight bag, ticket wallet, luggage tags & strap
  • All local taxes, hotel service charges & porterage for one suitcase per person
  • Free Wi-Fi on coaches and in hotel lobbies

Overnights for this tour:

  • Dunboyne Castle Hotel, Dunboyne (1 night)
  • Newpark Hotel, Kilkenny (2 nights)
  • Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre, Killarney (2 nights)
  • Salthill Hotel, Galway (2 nights)
  • North Star Hotel, Dublin (1 night)
Currency:
Please note that we charge in Euros (€). Prices in other currencies are for indication only and subject to fluctuation.

Day 1: Dublin Arrival & Malahide Castle
Tour begins 2:00 PM at Dunboyne Castle. Ensure you book an appropriate transfer to Dunboyne Castle as there is no public transportation service there. Head out to visit Malahide Castle, first built in 1185 and filled with medieval artifacts. Enjoy a welcome get-together drink with your group before dinner.
(D)

Day 2: National Stud &Kilkenny Walk
Visit the home of equine royalty, The Irish National Stud, where you’ll see immaculately bred stallions alongside protective mares, frolicking foals and athletic yearlings. Take a walk around the grounds to see St Fiachra’s Garden and the miniature Japanese Gardens. Enjoy a casual lunch at the Kilkenny Design Centre, housed in the former stables of Kilkenny Castle. Take a walking tour with a local guide along the Medieval Mile, the main thoroughfare to see historic streets and buildings. The evening is free for dining on your own.
(B, L)

Day 3: Waterford Crystal & Dunbrody Famine Ship
Witness the creation of crystal masterpieces during your visit to the House of Waterford Crystal. Then join a local guide for a gentle walking tour to hear stories about the Waterford’s long history and some of its colorful characters. Explore more of the town with time for lunch, and head to New Ross to explore the Dunbrody Famine Ship, a replica of the vessel used during the 1840s Famine to transport emigrants to North America.
(B, D)

Day 4: Cobh Heritage Centre & Blarney Castle
Travel south to Cobh, the last port of call of the Titanic and where many places associated with the liner still exist. Visit the Cobh Heritage Centre, which traces the history of emigration over a number of centuries from Ireland to North America. Head to Blarney Castle to kiss the famous stone or stroll through the spacious parklands to view Blarney House, stately old trees and colorful borders. Treat yourself to quality Irish good at Blarney Woollen Mills before heading to Killarney.
(B, D)

Day 5: Killarney & Dingle Peninsula
Spend the morning at leisure in Killarney, a little town with an ideal location beside Ireland’s highest mountains. Discover the glorious Dingle Peninsula as you drive along the south shore to admire views of heathery mountains, sandy stretches of beach, and rocky headlands. Stop at the South Pole Inn for an Irish coffee and learn about Tom Crean, an early explorer who braved the South Pole. Browse around the town of Dingle and enjoy a pub dinner before returning to Killarney.
(B, D)

Day 6: Cliffs of Moher & Galway Panoramic Tour
Embark on a memorable ferry ride across the wide River Shannon Estuary. View the Cliffs of Moher, soaring 700 feet above the churning Atlantic swells. Walk along the top of the cliffs where on a clear day you can see great views of Galway Bay and the Aran Islands. Immerse yourself in farm life and watch a farmer demonstrate how his trained dogs herd mountain sheep. Head to Galway for a panoramic city tour.
(B, D)

Day 7: Aran Islands Excursion & Prehistoric Dun Aengus Fort
Set out across the Galway Bay for Inis Mor, the largest of the three Aran Islands. These rocky islands are renowned for the hardy islanders who maintain traditional fishing and farming methods. Head to Dun Aengus, a huge prehistoric fortress perched on sheer cliffs, which fall away to the Atlantic Ocean below. Explore Kilronan, the main town, enjoy a casual lunch and meet a local storyteller who will regale you with stories of island life, before returning by ferry.
(B, L)

Day 8: Clonmacnoise Monastic Site & Abbey Tavern
Visit Clonmacnoise, a monastic settlement founded in 545 AD and set on the banks of the River Shannon. Marvel at elaborate high Celtic crosses decorated with biblical scenes, walk around the many church ruins and two round towers. Head to nearby Athlone and stop at Sean’s Bar. This pub has a documented history going right back to 900 AD. During renovations in 1970, ancient walls and old coins dating back centuries were discovered. In the evening, head to Dublin’s Abbey Tavern for an Irish dinner and lively show.
(B, D)

Day 9: Tour Ends in Dublin
Your tour ends after breakfast.
(B)

B: Breakfast; L: Lunch; D: Dinner

 

Tour Start Date in Ireland. Tour End Date in Ireland Land price Twin Sharing Guaranteed Departure
Fri 3 Mar 2023 Sat 11 Mar 2023 €2,043 Available
Fri 7 Apr 2023 Sat 15 Apr 2023 €2,182 Sold Out
Fri 21 Apr 2023 Sat 29 Apr 2023 €2,449 Sold Out
Fri 28 Apr 2023 Sat 6 May 2023 €2,182 Available
Fri 5 May 2023 Sat 13 May 2023 €2,874 Sold Out
Fri 12 May 2023 Sat 20 May 2023 €2,486 Available
Fri 26 May 2023 Sat 3 Jun 2023 €2,486 Available
Fri 2 Jun 2023 Sat 10 Jun 2023 €2,874 Sold Out
Fri 9 Jun 2023 Sat 17 Jun 2023 €2,560 Sold Out
Fri 16 Jun 2023 Sat 24 Jun 2023 €2,874 Please Call
Fri 23 Jun 2023 Sat 1 Jul 2023 €2,560 Available
Fri 30 Jun 2023 Sat 8 Jul 2023 €2,560 Available
Fri 7 Jul 2023 Sat 15 Jul 2023 €2,763 Available
Fri 14 Jul 2023 Sat 22 Jul 2023 €2,514 Sold Out
Fri 4 Aug 2023 Sat 12 Aug 2023 €2,874 Available
Fri 11 Aug 2023 Sat 19 Aug 2023 €2,606 Sold Out
Fri 18 Aug 2023 Sat 26 Aug 2023 €2,606 Sold Out
Fri 25 Aug 2023 Sat 2 Sep 2023 €2,874 Available
Tue 29 Aug 2023 Wed 6 Sep 2023 €2,606 Available
Fri 1 Sep 2023 Sat 9 Sep 2023 €2,560 Available
Fri 8 Sep 2023 Sat 16 Sep 2023 €2,874 Sold Out
Tue 19 Sep 2023 Wed 27 Sep 2023 €2,560 Available
Fri 22 Sep 2023 Sat 30 Sep 2023 €2,874 Sold Out
Fri 29 Sep 2023 Sat 7 Oct 2023 €2,560 Sold Out
Fri 6 Oct 2023 Sat 14 Oct 2023 €2,302 Available
Fri 13 Oct 2023 Sat 21 Oct 2023 €2,551 Available
Fri 20 Oct 2023 Sat 28 Oct 2023 €2,043 Available
Tue 10 Oct 2023 Wed 18 Oct 2023 €2,302 Sold Out
Tue 9 May 2023 Wed 17 May 2023 €2,486 Available
Tue 23 May 2023 Wed 31 May 2023 €2,486 Available
Tue 20 Jun 2023 Wed 28 Jun 2023 €2,560 Available
Tue 4 Jul 2023 Wed 12 Jul 2023 €2,514 Available
Tue 11 Jul 2023 Wed 19 Jul 2023 €2,514 Available
Tue 26 Sep 2023 Wed 4 Oct 2023 €2,560 Available
Tue 3 Oct 2023 Wed 11 Oct 2023 €2,302 Available

Get discounts and updates for Discovering Ireland Vacations

Sign up now for the official Discovering Ireland Vacations Update e-newsletter, designed to keep you up-to-date on what's new and exciting at Discovering Ireland and indeed in Ireland travel itself! You will also be among the first to know about our great special offers, vacation in Ireland deals and trip to Ireland cost!

Sign Up for News and Offers

Start planning your vacation... Enquire Now

Leave this field empty
JavaScript is required in order fully to use this site. Please enable it now and reload the page.