Regions of Ireland

Regions of Ireland

Ireland Travel - Explore the best ways to travel around Ireland's regions

Ireland Travel

While traditionally Ireland is made up of four counties, Munster, Ulster, Connaught and Leinster, travelling through our website one may note that Ireland is divided into 7 separate tourist regions each defined by their location and the many different cultural and scenic delights they all offer the visitor on their Ireland vacation .

The South West Region: Consists of two of Irelands most beloved and scenic counties Kerry and Cork. Fromthe Ring of Kerry, the Skelligs, Dingle and Carrauntoohill in Kerry to Cork counties Blarney Castle, its charming city and the delights of the remote and beautiful West Cork region, the southwest is one of Ireland most popular regions for visitors.

The Shannon Region: Consists of counties Clare and Limerick. Clare has an abundance of visual riches with the Cliffs of Moher, Bunratty castle, the unique landscape of the Burren region and a fine tradition of Irish music. Limerick is a county of quiet beauty and rural charm with a city rich in history.

The South East Region: The counties of Carlow, Kilkenny, Tipperary, Waterford and Wexford make up the sunny southeast. Highlights include Waterford, Irelands oldest city, home to the world famous Waterford Crystal, Wexford famous for its seaside resorts and Opera festival, the Celtic relics in Carlow, the medieval city of Kilkenny and the golden vale landscape of Tipperary site of the Rock of Cashel.

The West Region: On the very edge of Europe lie the West counties of Galway, Mayo and Roscommon. Taking in wild romantic and rugged scenery and coastlines, great walks and the unique culture of Galway the west is a popular region. Highlights include the famous Connemara national park, Croagh Patrick, Galway city and the Aran Islands.

The East Coast & Midlands Region: The area consists of 8 counties: Kildare, Laois, Longford, Louth, Offaly, Meath, Westmeath and Wicklow with areas of sunny coastlines and rich inland landscapes. From the home of Irish civilisation in Newgrange and the Hill of Tara the seat of the High Kings in Meath to the present day modern capital Dublin, the midlands come with a range of attractions from Kildares horse racing centre to Wicklow the garden of Ireland and everything in between.

The North West Region: Comprising of the counties of Cavan, Donegal, Leitrim, Monaghan and Sligo, this is probably Ireland’s most romantic region with small villages and a green landscape. From wild scenic coastline of Donegal and Sligo the centre of surfing to the inland regions of Leitrim, Monaghan and Cavan with their canals, lakes, mountains and scenic walkways, the NorthWest is an understated region that provides the visitor with a welcome break from the city.

Northern Ireland: Takes in the counties of Antrim, Armagh, Down, Fermanagh, Londonderry and Tyrone. Famous as much for its magnificent scenic landscape as it is for its culture and history rich cities of Derry and Belfast. Scenic highlights include the World Heritage site of the Giant's Causeway, the Mourne Mountains and the Glens of Antrim.

Get discounts and updates for Discovering Ireland Vacations

Sign up now for the official Discovering Ireland Vacations Update e-newsletter, designed to keep you up-to-date on what's new and exciting at Discovering Ireland and indeed in Ireland travel itself! You will also be among the first to know about our great special offers, vacation in Ireland deals and trip to Ireland cost!

Sign Up for News and Offers

Start planning your vacation... Enquire Now

 Yes      No

Leave this field empty
JavaScript is required in order fully to use this site. Please enable it now and reload the page.