Tyrone is the largest of the six counties of Northern Ireland, and is the second largest Ulster County after Donegal.

For centuries Tyrone was the territory of the important O'Neill Clan who controlled the province of Ulster until 1603, when Hugh O'Neill was defeated by English settlers and forced to flee Ireland. This was a turning point in Irish history and ushered in the Plantation of Ulster by Protestants from England and Scotland.

At one time Tyrone stretched as far as Lough Foyle in what is now County Derry. Its other bordering counties are Donegal, Armagh, Monaghan and Fermanagh.

Along the borders with County Derry are the Sperrin Mountains, the highest point of which is Mount Sawel rising some 678m. Just outside the town of Omagh lies the Ulster American Folk Park, outlining the history of settlement of the United States by people from this part of Ireland, sometimes called Scots Irish.

Omagh is the county town of Tyrone, a gentle market town, which will sadly be remembered for the IRA bombing that killed 29 people.

The family of former U.S. President Woodrow Wilson came from County Tyrone and actor Sam Neill was born in Omagh.

Get discounts and updates for Discovering Ireland Vacations

Sign up now for the official Discovering Ireland Vacations Update e-newsletter, designed to keep you up-to-date on what's new and exciting at Discovering Ireland and indeed in Ireland travel itself! You will also be among the first to know about our great special offers, vacation in Ireland deals and trip to Ireland cost!

Sign Up for News and Offers

Start planning your vacation... Enquire Now

 Yes      No

Leave this field empty
JavaScript is required in order fully to use this site. Please enable it now and reload the page.